Canvas Lettering!

So, If you’re anything like me, then you know how beautifully inspiring, yet terribly addicting Instagram can be for letterers, and just designers of any type…sorry Insta :/. Lately, in an effort to focus more on my own lettering and personal style as an artist, I’ve been taking it back to canvas lettering. You guys, I had literally forgotten how much I enjoy lettering on this medium! It has been such a joy and breath of fresh air getting back to it, and I’ve even noticed my progression as a letterer as well. So just what have I noticed, you ask? No worries…I’m sharing the deets! πŸ™‚

Okay so first off, let me just say that lettering on a canvas medium is no easy feat. It can really be tough stuff you guys! So here are some tips for all of you canvas lettering newbies out there:

  • I purchase all of my canvases mostly from Michael’s. They’re GREAT about sending their members coupons and they provide pretty awesome customer service and tips in-store. I usually like to purchase the Artist Loft value pack stretched canvases, especially when they’re on sale! πŸ™‚
  • So I’ve tried several different pens, markers, and brushes on canvases and I have found that brushes work best for me. The others work well, but the stretched material on canvases can be pretty tough on paint pens/markers, so just keep that in mind when using them.
  • I would probably never have guessed it, but ink produces pretty AWESOME results on this medium. It seems to pop and shows up really vibrant, which is a major plus for letterers.

20170420_133456

  • Lately, I’ve been pretty intrigued by watercolor for some artsy reason, I’m sure. So I’ve been doing watercolor backgrounds on my canvases to support my lettering. You guys, this has secretly become one of my favorite design options for my canvas lettering! I love it. Pictured above is one of my latest and most favorite designs.
  • Now watercolor on canvas can be a little tricky at first, since the colors tend to show up slightly different on this medium than they would on simple watercolor paper. My suggestion would be to purchase smaller canvases to use first for practice, and to familiarize yourself with the colors and the way they appear, and once you’re comfy, go for that finished product!
  • Lastly, relax and find a quiet place when creating. This tip isn’t exclusive to canvas lettering, but sooo necessary you guys. For me, creating a beautifully lettered piece only comes out of my worship time with the Lord. I’m sure my fellow Christian creatives out there can relate and attest to this. I never know what’s gonna come out of it, but I am ALWAYS pleased and amazed!

 

What are some of your canvas lettering experiences? Let me know…I’d love to hear from you! Got questions? Leave them in the comment section below and I’ll be sure to answer them as soon as I can!

Chaunese β™₯

Leave a Reply

