Brushes

If you follow me on any of my social media accounts, you’ve had the joy of watching me letter with several different brush types in my process videos. If you couldn’t already tell by now, I lOVE brush lettering! The look is so genuine, and I really feel like a true artist when I’m using them. Now, of course, I do have my favorites (I’ll discuss in a separate post), but I thought I’d share a few key pointers about each one that I frequent the most (pictured above).Β 

Sooo…let’s jump right in…

Stained by Sharpie – These brushes are amazing! They would work great for lettering newbies since the nib isn’t as flexible. This allows for more control as you perfect your strokes. The colors are really bright and vivid, and they make lettering an absolute joy!

Crayola Brush Pens – These brushes are certainly not for the faint at heart. It took me so long to master them since the brush tip is medium in size and very flexible. Your control and steadiness would have to be closer to perfection for these. I don’t like that they seem to dry out fairly quickly, but they can get the job done for a short while. πŸ™‚

Tombow Dual Brush PensΒ – Okay, so let me just start by saying that these pens are nothing short of BRILLIANT!!! These are, hands down, my favorite pens! They have two tips, hence the name, and the brush tip is hard, yet soft enough to allow for a degree of flexibility. I currently own the bright palette, and the colors in this one are very vibrant and vivid. A unique characteristic of these pens is that they are water-based; this allows for smooth blending when going for the ‘multiple colors/watercolor’ look. A blending brush is included in the palette.

Pentel Color Brush (medium/black)Β – This brush pen is my second favorite and definite go-to for the basics. I love using it for practice lettering, and have found that it works great on canvases as well! The ink flows nicely and the brush allows for even ink distribution. It doesn’t seem to dry out fast (I’m still using my first one :)) and somehow, makes your mistakes look like a pure work of art! πŸ™‚

Pentel Color Brush (small/light black) – Though the basic characteristics are the same as that of the medium brush, the small tip brush differs in that it allows for smaller brush strokes. The color is ‘supposedly’ light black, but it’s more of a grey to me…no confusion there. πŸ™‚

Okay guys, so that’s the short deal on the brushes that I use most often. If you have any questions and/or comments for me, leave them below!

4 Replies to “Brushes”

  1. I love Tombow Brush Pens. But, I’ve always wanted to try the Stained Sharpie pens. They have been on my wish list for a while now. Crayola brush pens I have to agree with you. I lack control using these pens too, but I have a “love & hate” relationship using them. Pentel brush pen I haven’t tried before. I will add this one also to my long list of crafting supplies. Thanks for sharing, great blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey girl!! Yeah, you have to give the Sharpie Stained pens…they are such a joy to work with. The only drawback is that I had to order mine because I couldn’t find them in any stores in my area. But they’re at least cost-effective! The Pentel brush pens are also amazing so they are a must-buy! I found them in my local Michael’s store. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. I’ve just started brush lettering (as part of a Hand Lettering Challenge I’m running on my blog) and this post was very helpful. I’m currently using the Tombow brush pens πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

