Sweet Hour of Prayer

Sweet Hour of PrayerThere are times when we stumble upon unfortunate circumstances and situations that make unrequited attempts to snatch our morning joy away. I’ve always found it funny and peculiar how in one moment, you have a hold on joy and happiness and peace, and then all of a sudden, it’s lifted right from your grasp in the next. Life can bring on terrible blows and unforeseen unmentionables, but one thing consistently stands true: There is ALWAYS a sweet hour of prayer that can restore it all. 

One sweet moment in sincere and transparent dialogue with God is all it ever takes for me. If you’re anything like me, you don’t always understand certain things, and/or you feel like giving up. As a matter of fact, sometimes I don’t wanna hear your typical advice nor any wise adage; I know that the Lord will work everything out and will make it all better, but in that moment, it just seems unfathomable. It’s as if my finite cognition just can’t quite make it all out. To me, life can oftentimes appear abstract, like an abstract painting; you have to squint your eyes or tilt your head to see and imagine what the intentions and/or thought process of the artist may have been during the time of creation. Well, I like to think of the Lord as that abstract artist. He, in His omniscient splendor, creates with what may seem abstract to human mind. He, in simplicity, works profoundness and complexities. Oftentimes, my sweet hour of prayer details my belief and my desire for help in my areas of unbelief; I believe that He is and that He is able to do a thing, but my understanding of how, when, where, and why is limited, thereby creating areas of unbelief. 

But if I could pull on long-term memory, I am able to recall times when the Lord showed up on my behalf, stood giant in my situations, and stuck out His chest in triumphant victory over my enemies. Isn’t it crazy how these fond memories are buried in our long-term memory rather than our short-term memory? Just because we may not remember or realize or have knowledge of the many wars that God has fought on our behalf, probably just moments ago, does not mean that they did not occur. Make it a habit to frequently recall these times so that your faith can be restored and renewed. Prayer does this for me. In prayer, I make it a point to think of things that the Lord has provided me, tangible and intangible. I thank Him for simply being Him. I cast all of my cares on Him and just surrender. 

When you don’t know how your next meal will be served, take a sweet hour or prayer.

When you’re unsure of how you’ll be able to make your next bill payment or make ends meet, take a sweet hour of prayer.

When you, a relative, or a friend is suffering from an ailment, take a sweet hour of prayer.

If you desire to start a business, but are struggling with fear and doubt, take a sweet hour of prayer.

If you and your spouse can’t seem to bring that same old argument to some resolve, take a sweet hour of prayer.

If you have a major life decision to make and are unsure of which way to turn, take a sweet hour of prayer.

If you feel stuck and unsure of your future, take a sweet hour of prayer.

If you have been searching tirelessly for a job/career to no end, are unemployed, and/or lack provision, take a sweet hour of prayer. 

“Confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed. The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.” -James 5:16 KJV

Go to the Lord in prayer, even for the small things. We may not always get what we want, but He is sure to provide every need. Feel free to tell the Lord your struggles, worries, concerns, doubts, fears, embarrassments, disappointments, losses, hurts, areas of brokenness, emotions, thoughts, secrets, and failures. I promise that He’s an awesome listener, and an even better friend. Just talk to Him.

“Sweet hour of prayer, sweet hour of prayer that calls me from a world of care, and bids me at my Father’s throne make all my wants and wishes known! In seasons of distress and grief, my soul has often found relief and oft escaped the tempter’s snare by thy return, sweet hour of prayer.” -hymn by William W. Walford & William B. Bradbury

“Now unto Him that is able to keep you from falling, and to present you faultless before the presence of His glory with exceeding to joy, to the only wise God our Savior, be glory and majesty, dominion and power, both now and ever. Amen.” -Jude 1:24-25

2 Replies to “Sweet Hour of Prayer”

    1. To God be all the glory!!! Thank you for letting me know; it’s great to know that the Lord is touching someone through me. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

