My First LOVE Story

ME

Okay so picture it: Kingstree, SC 1999 LOL. It was a Sunday morning when He first beckoned my heart. I grew up in a traditional baptist church in the southern ‘lowcountry’. A place signified by its cool coast breeze and great mossy oaks, iced sweet tea and grandma’s beef stew, and of course traditional Sunday mornings. My mom made sure my sisters and I never missed a Sunday and Sunday school was commonplace for me. This is the way LOVE orchestrated His introduction to me and brought purpose into my mundane life, and I am forever grateful. 

On our Sunday dates, I learned so much about him, like His many titles, how hard He loves, and stories of his love expressed to and through others, just to name a few. He often spoke to me of how He so wanted to ‘save’ me from my current existence at the time and how a relationship with Him would allow for me to have life and have it more abundantly. His voice would oftentimes make me speechless and teary-eyed, or scream with joy. I had to let Him in…

I walked down the red carpeted aisle; the music stirring my emotions…a soundtrack to the moment. “Just as I am, without one plea, but that thy blood was shed for me, and that thou bid’st me come to thee, oh lamb of God, I come, I come.” Just thinking of the moment brings tears of joy, and peace to my soul. When I had reached the altar, my pastor asked me to repeat my vows after him: “I believe in the Lord Jesus, and I believe in my heart that God has raised Him from the dead.” I got saved that Sunday morning in the southern lowcountry of SC…the place where I first received Love, experienced joy unveiled, and peace surpassing all understanding. Love makes me smile, gives me hope, inspires me to love, and equips me for a purpose bigger than me. I love LOVE.

“Now unto HIM that is able to keep you from falling, and to present you faultless before the presence of His glory with exceeding joy, to the only wise God our Savior, be glory and majesty, dominion and power, both now and ever. Amen.” -Jude 1: 24-25 KJV

 

Leave a Reply

